The Roman Calendar

Before the Julian Reform

Year Lengths

In the time before the introduction by Caesar of the Julian calendar the Roman calendar was in almost complete disorder. The calendar in use was mainly solar, but the leap year rule was similar to that of a lunisolar calendar as there was a whole month intercalated in leap years. Every other year of a four year cycle were supposed to be leap years, giving four years a total length of 355 + 378 + 355 + 377 = 1465 days, which was in fact about four days longer than four tropical years (1460.969 days). The leap month, designated Intercalaris, was inserted after February, the last day of which was 23 February in leap years. Intercalaris had 27 or 28 days.

Month Names and Lengths

The names, lengths, and sequence of the months in Roman common years ans leap years are shown in the follwing table.

  Common Year Leap Year  
Month  Length Month  Length 
Ianuarius 29 Ianuarius 29
Februarius 28 Februarius 23
Martius 31 Intercalaris  27/28
Aprilis 29 Martius 31
Maius 31 Aprilis 29
Iunius 29 Maius 31
Quintilis 31 Iunius 29
Sextilis 29 Quintilis 31
September 29 Sextilis 29
October 31 September 29
November 29 October 31
December 29 November 29
   December29

Although numbering the days sequentially seems to be the easiest way to designate days within a month, the Romans used an intricated pattern to name their days. There were some special days, called Kalendae, Nonae, and Idus. The first day of each month was called Kalendae, or calends, while the fifth day or, in months of 31 days, the seventh day, was called Nonae, or nones. Finally the 13th or 15th day, respectively, was named Idus, or ides, marking more or less the middle of the month. In between these kind of lables, the Romans counted the days backwards, including the "lable days". With this system, the second day of Ianuarius was designated "day IIII before the nones of Ianuarius" (ANTE DIEM IIII NONAS IANVARIAS). In addition, the day preceeding calends, nones, or ides was simply called "pridie" instead of "day II before ...".

With all these rules, a common year of the Roman calendar looked like this.

 DayIanuarius
Aprilis
FebruariusMartius
Maius
Iunius
Sextilis
September
November
December
Quintilis
October
Day 
1KalendaeKalendaeKalendaeKalendaeKalendae1
2IIIIIIIIVIIIIIVI2
3IIIIIIVIIIV3
4pridiepridieIIIIpridieIIII4
5NonaeNonaeIIINonaeIII5
6VIIIVIIIpridieVIIIpridie6
7VIIVIINonaeVIINonae7
8VIVIVIIIVIVIII8
9VVVIIVVII9
10IIIIIIIIVIIIIIVI10
11IIIIIIVIIIV11
12pridiepridieIIIIpridieIIII12
13IdusIdusIIIIdusIII13
14XVIIXVIpridieXVIIpridie14
15XVIXVIdusXVIIdus15
16XVXIIIIXVIIXVXVII16
17XIIIIXIIIXVIXIIIIXVI17
18XIIIXIIXVXIIIXV18
19XIIXIXIIIIXIIXIIII19
20XIXXIIIXIXIII20
21XIXXIIXXII21
22IXVIIIXIIXXI22
23VIIIVIIXVIIIX23
24VIIVIIXVIIIX24
25VIVVIIIVIVIII25
26VIIIIVIIVVII26
27IIIIIIIVIIIIIVI27
28IIIpridieVIIIV28
29pridie-IIIIpridieIIII29
30--III-III30
31--pridie-pridie31

In a leap year, the month Intercalaris began with the day after 23 February, the latter day having been called Terminalia. Some sources say, that Intercalaris had only 22 or 23 days and was inserted between 23 February and 24 February, but that seems unlikely, as the days after the ides of Intercalaris were to be referred to as days "before day VI before the calends of march". More likely, the days after the ides of February were counted as shown in the table below, with the days of Intercalaris counted according to the other months.

  Februarius 
13Idus
14XI
15X
16IX
17VIII
18VII
19VI
20V
21IIII
22III
23pridie

Numbering Years

During the Roman Republic the years were designated by the names of the consuls then in office(1). Even if a consul left office before the regular end of his term - throug death or resignation - the remaining year kept its designation. Though seldom during the republican period, resignations became frequent in the Empire when the consuls had lost most of their power in the Empire. The short terms of some consuls were commented with the question "Under which consuls was he consul?" After the division of the Empire into East and West each part nominated one consul. These candidates were not always agreed upon, leaving the office vacant. In such cases, years were called "year ... after the consulate of ... " The earliest more or less reliable lists of consuls date from the third century BCE.

In 537, emperor Justinian abolished consular years and introduced regnal years. Beginning with Justinian's successor, Justin II., each emperor took the office of consul on 1 January of the year following the year of accession. The years were then counted as "post-consular" years.

For chronological purposes the era of the "founding of the city" (i. e. Rome) was used from about the first century CE on. According to Marcus Terrentius Varro that era was supposed to start in 753 BCE. But another era, starting a year later, was also used sometimes.

Problems of the Calendar

With the calendar year one day longer than the tropical year, the difference between the calendar and the seasons soon became obvious. In trying to keep the calendar aligned with the sun's movement deliberate intercalations were carried out. In some years, even until the ides of February one did not know whether the current year should stay a common year or become a leap year. In this case no one knew when the next calends (of Intercalaris or of march) took place. So the days after the ides of February were counted backwards to the Terminalia (23 February), 20 Februar becoming ANTE DIEM IIII (quartum) TERMINALIA. The insertion of 27 or 28 days in leap years made it impossible to keep the calendar synchronized with the moon's phases, too.

There have been several laws trying to find a leap year pattern keeping the calendar aligned to the seasons, but eventually intercalations were made by the pontifices whithout a fixed pattern at all. The pontifices were allowed to intercalate at will, and sometimes Intercalaris was inserted for political reasons.

During the Second Punic War no intercalations had been made which led to the calendar being almost four months ahead of the sun after the war. In 168 BCE the difference was still 72 days and by the time of the introduction of the Julian calendar the Roman calendar was 90 days ahead of the sun.

Calendar Reform

The old Roman calendar was replaced by the Julian calendar worked out by the astronomer Sosigenes from Alexandria. Its leap year rule, eras, and beginnings of the year are described in the Julian calendar section. What's left to mention is the adaption of the designation of days of the old Roman calendar to the new Julian calendar. The days were designated according to the system described above, but, with some months lengthened by one or two days, the numbers of the days after the ides changed a bit. In addition, instead of a whole month, a single day had to be added in a leap year. This day, for some reason, was placed after 24 February, which the Romans called ANTE DIEM VI KALENDAS MARTIAS. The leap day was then referred to as ANTE DIEM BIS VI KALENDAS MARTIAS, or second day VI before the calends of March(2).

 TagIanuarius
Augustus
December
FebruariusMartius
Maius
Iulius
October
Aprilis
Iunius
September
November
Tag 
Common YearLeap Year
1   Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae   1
2IIIIIIIIIIIIVIIIII2
3IIIIIIIIIVIII3
4pridiepridiepridieIIIIpridie4
5NonaeNonaeNonaeIIINonae5
6VIIIVIIIVIIIpridieVIII6
7VIIVIIVIINonaeVII7
8VIVIVIVIIIVI8
9VVVVIIV9
10IIIIIIIIIIIIVIIIII10
11IIIIIIIIIVIII11
12pridiepridiepridieIIIIpridie12
13IdusIdusIdusIIIIdus13
14XIXXVIXVIpridieXVIII14
15XVIIIXVXVIdusXVII15
16XVIIXIIIIXIIIIXVIIXVI16
17XVIXIIIXIIIXVIXV17
18XVXIIXIIXVXIIII18
19XIIIIXIXIXIIIIXIII19
20XIIIXXXIIIXII20
21XIIIXIXXIIXI21
22XIVIIIVIIIXIX22
23XVIIVIIXIX23
24IXVIVIIXVIII24
25VIIIVbis VIVIIIVII25
26VIIIIIIVVIIVI26
27VIIIIIIIIVIV27
28VpridieIIIVIIII28
29IIII-pridieIIIIIII29
30III--IIIpridie30
31pridie--pridie-31

The new leap year rule was misinterpreted by the pontifices, which intercalated every three years rather than every four years. Caesars successor, Augustus, corrected the calendar by not intercalating until the error was eliminated. From 8 CE on the Julian calendar was used according to the rules defined by Sosigenes.

top of page

 

 

Remarks

2
Calling 25 February "bis VI Kal. Mart." may indicate, that the leap day was in fact 25 February. All references I used (Grotefend, Bickerman, Lietzmann) say so. On the other hand, inserting the leap day on the same point as was the intercalary month before the Julian reform doesn't seem illogical. Consequently, day "bis VI" must have been before day "VI", which corresponds to the Roman's reverse counting of the days, too. But no text I've read lists this numeration explicitly. As a source considering 24 February as the leap day see http://astro.nmsu.edu/~lhuber/leaphist.html.

back to text

 

   top of page

 

 

 

 

http://www.ortelius.de/kalender/rom_en.php   © Holger Oertel 2000-2008; last change: 19 August 2007

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!

Römischer Kalender

Zustand vor der Julianischen Reform

Jahreslängen

Vor der Einführung des Julianischen Kalenders durch Cäsar herrschten im römischen Kalenderwesen Unordnung und Willkür. Offiziell war ein Sonnenkalender mit einer an Lunisolarkalender erinnernden Schaltregel in Kraft. Ein Normaljahr hatte eine Länge von 355 Tagen, ein Schaltjahr 377 oder 378 Tage. In Schaltjahren wurde der Februar mit dem 23. Februar (dieser Tag trug die Bezeichnung Terminalia) beendet und dann ein Schaltmonat (Intercalaris) eingefügt, der 27 oder 28 Tage hatte. Normaljahre und Schaltjahre sollten abwechselnd aufeinander folgen, so dass sich für einen Zyklus von vier Jahren insgesamt die Länge von 355 + 378 + 355 + 377 = 1465 Tagen ergab. Dies ist um etwa vier Tage länger als vier tropische Jahre mit 1460,969 Tagen.

Bezeichnung und Länge der Monate

In der folgenden Tabelle sind die Monatslängen der Normal- und Schaltjahre des römischen Kalenders angegeben.

  Normaljahr Schaltjahr  
Monat  Länge Monat  Länge 
Ianuarius 29 Ianuarius 29
Februarius 28 Februarius 23
Martius 31 Intercalaris  27/28
Aprilis 29 Martius 31
Maius 31 Aprilis 29
Iunius 29 Maius 31
Quintilis 31 Iunius 29
Sextilis 29 Quintilis 31
September 29 Sextilis 29
October 31 September 29
November 29 October 31
December 29 November 29
   December29

Für uns gilt es als selbstverständlich, die Tage innerhalb der Monate nach ihrer Ordnungszahl zu benennen. Im alten Rom aber wurde ein eigentümliches System angewendet, nach dem die Tage rückwärts bis zu bestimmten herausragenden Monatstagen gezählt wurden. Der erste Tag eines jeden Monats wurde als Kalenden (im Plural; lat. Kalendae) bezeichnet. Der fünfte, in den Monaten mit 31 Tagen aber der siebente Tag hieß Nonen (Nonae). Der 13. bzw. in den Monaten mit 31 Tagen der 15. Tag waren die Iden (Idus), die etwa die Monatsmitte bezeichneten. Zwischen diesen Tagen zählte man rückwärts bis zu den nächsten Kalenden, Nonen oder Iden, wobei diese Tage selbst mitgezählt wurden. Der Tag unmittelbar vor den Kalenden, Nonen oder Iden trug die Bezeichnung "pridie" anstelle des schematischen "Tag II vor den Kalenden/Nonen/Iden" (ANTE DIEM IIII NONAS IANVARIAS).

Für ein Normaljahr des Römischen Kalenders ergibt sich damit folgende Übersicht.

 TagIanuarius
Aprilis
FebruariusMartius
Maius
Iunius
Sextilis
September
November
December
Quintilis
October
Tag 
1KalendaeKalendaeKalendaeKalendaeKalendae1
2IIIIIIIIVIIIIIVI2
3IIIIIIVIIIV3
4pridiepridieIIIIpridieIIII4
5NonaeNonaeIIINonaeIII5
6VIIIVIIIpridieVIIIpridie6
7VIIVIINonaeVIINonae7
8VIVIVIIIVIVIII8
9VVVIIVVII9
10IIIIIIIIVIIIIIVI10
11IIIIIIVIIIV11
12pridiepridieIIIIpridieIIII12
13IdusIdusIIIIdusIII13
14XVIIXVIpridieXVIIpridie14
15XVIXVIdusXVIIdus15
16XVXIIIIXVIIXVXVII16
17XIIIIXIIIXVIXIIIIXVI17
18XIIIXIIXVXIIIXV18
19XIIXIXIIIIXIIXIIII19
20XIXXIIIXIXIII20
21XIXXIIXXII21
22IXVIIIXIIXXI22
23VIIIVIIXVIIIX23
24VIIVIIXVIIIX24
25VIVVIIIVIVIII25
26VIIIIVIIVVII26
27IIIIIIIVIIIIIVI27
28IIIpridieVIIIV28
29pridie-IIIIpridieIIII29
30--III-III30
31--pridie-pridie31

Nach dem 23. Februar begann in einem Schaltjahr der Schaltmonat Intercalaris. Er hatte 27 oder 28 Tage, je nachdem, ob es sich um ein Schaltjahr mit 377 oder 378 Tagen handelte. Zur Länge des Schaltmonats findet man unterschiedliche Angaben. Dass der Schaltmonat nur 22 oder 23 Tage hatte und der Februar nach dem Schaltmonat fortgesetzt wurde, scheint wegen der Rückwärtszählung der Tage kaum möglich: Die Tage ab den Iden des Schaltmonats hätten dann als Tage "vor dem Tag VI vor den Kalenden des März" gezählt werden müssen. Denkbar ist, dass die Tage ab den Iden des Februar entsprechend der folgenden Tabelle gezählt und die Tage des Schaltmonats wie in den anderen Monaten bezeichnet wurden.

  Februarius 
13Idus
14XI
15X
16IX
17VIII
18VII
19VI
20V
21IIII
22III
23pridie

Jahreszählung

In der Römischen Republik wurden die Jahre durch die Namen der beiden Konsuln bezeichnet, die in ihnen im Amt waren(1). Hierbei wurde auch im Falle einer vorzeitigen Beendigung - etwa durch den Tod oder Rücktritt eines Konsuls - die Bezeichnung des laufenden Jahres beibehalten. Rücktritte kamen in der Republik selten vor, häuften sich jedoch in der Kaiserzeit, als das Amt des Konsuls nicht mehr mit wirklicher Macht verbunden war. Die kurzen Amtszeiten fanden in der spöttischen Frage Ausdruck: "Unter welchen Konsuln war er Konsul?" Nach der Teilung des Römischen Reiches stellten das West- und das Oströmische Reich jeweils einen Kandidaten. Da mitunter der Kandidat des jeweils anderen Reichsteiles nicht akzeptiert wurde und somit keine Konsuln im Amt waren, begann man die Jahre mit "Jahr ... nach dem Konsulat von ..." zu bezeichnen. Einigermaßen verlässlich sind Listen der Konsuln seit dem 3. Jahrhundert v. u. Z. überliefert.

Im Jahre 537 schaffte Kaiser Justinian die Datierung nach Konsuln ab und führte die Datierung nach Herrscherjahren ein. Seit Justinians Nachfolger Justin II. nahm der jeweilige Kaiser am 1. Januar des auf das Jahr der Thronbesteigung folgenden Jahres auch das Konsulamt an, und es wurde nach diesen "Post-Konsulats-Jahren" datiert.

Für chronologische Zwecke wurde etwa ab der Zeitenwende auch die Jahreszählung seit der "Gründung der Stadt" (ab urbe condita) angewendet. Gemeint ist die Gründung Roms, die meist für das Jahr 753 v. u. Z. angesetzt wurde (Varronische Ära, benannt nach Marcus Terrentius Varro). Seltener war auch eine Zählung in Gebrauch, die die Gründung Roms ein Jahr später ansetzt (Kapitolinische Ära).

Probleme des Kalenders

Schnell ergab sich ein merklicher Unterschied zwischen dem Kalender und den Jahreszeiten, da das römische Jahr ja um etwa einen Tag zu lang war. Daher wurden häufig willkürliche Einschaltungen vorgenommen, wobei mitunter erst wenige Tage vor den Terminalien des Februar (23. Februar) entschieden wurde, ob geschaltet werden sollte oder nicht. Da die Tage nach den Iden aber rückwärts bis zu den Kalenden des März (in Normaljahren) oder des Schaltmonats (in Schaltjahren) gezählt werden mussten, wurden in solchen Jahren die Tage bis zu den Terminalien des Februar gezählt. Der 20. Februar wurde dann mit ANTE DIEM IIII (quartum) TERMINALIA bezeichnet. Durch das Einschalten von 27 oder 28 Tagen ging auch die Übereinstimmung des Kalenders mit den Mondphasen schnell verloren.

Mehrere Versuche, einen Schaltrhythmus zu finden, der eine Übereinstimmung des Kalenders mit den Jahreszeiten gewährleistet, blieben ohne Erfolg. Schließlich legten die Pontifices die Schaltungen fest, ohne dass eine definierte Schaltregel zugrunde lag. Damit war willkürlichen Schaltungen Tür und Tor geöffnet, und es wurde oft nach politischen Gesichtspunkten geschaltet.

Während des Zweiten Punischen Krieges wurde gar nicht geschaltet - nach Kriegsende war der Kalender dem Lauf der Sonne fast vier Monate voraus. 168 v. u. Z. waren von diesem "Vorsprung" noch immer 72 Tage vorhanden. Im Jahre 46 v. u. Z., unmittelbar vor der Einführung des julianischen Kalenders, war der Kalender den Jahreszeiten um 90 Tage voraus.

Kalenderreform

Die Wirren im römischen Kalender wurden durch die Einführung des durch den alexandrinischen Astronomen Sosigenes erarbeiteten Julianischen Kalenders beendet. Zur Schaltregel, Jahreszählung und Jahresanfängen siehe Julianischer Kalender. Hier soll noch kurz auf die Anpassung der Tageszählung an den neuen Kalender und die neue Schaltregel eingegangen werden. Das römische System der Tagesbezeichnung wurde prinzipiell beibehalten, jedoch änderte sich in den meisten Monaten die Numerierung der Tage nach den Iden. Im Unterschied zum bisherigen römischen Kalender wurde in Schaltjahren nun nicht mehr ein ganzer Monat eingefügt, sondern lediglich ein einzelner Tag. Diesen schob man nach dem 24. Februar, dem römischen ANTE DIEM VI KALENDAS MARTIAS, als ANTE DIEM BIS VI KALENDAS MARTIAS, also zweiten Tag VI vor den Kalenden des März ein(2).

Die folgende Tabelle zeigt den römischen Jahreskalender, wie er seit der Einführung des julianischen Kalenders galt.

 TagIanuarius
Augustus
December
FebruariusMartius
Maius
Iulius
October
Aprilis
Iunius
September
November
Tag 
NormaljahrSchaltjahr
1   Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae      Kalendae   1
2IIIIIIIIIIIIVIIIII2
3IIIIIIIIIVIII3
4pridiepridiepridieIIIIpridie4
5NonaeNonaeNonaeIIINonae5
6VIIIVIIIVIIIpridieVIII6
7VIIVIIVIINonaeVII7
8VIVIVIVIIIVI8
9VVVVIIV9
10IIIIIIIIIIIIVIIIII10
11IIIIIIIIIVIII11
12pridiepridiepridieIIIIpridie12
13IdusIdusIdusIIIIdus13
14XIXXVIXVIpridieXVIII14
15XVIIIXVXVIdusXVII15
16XVIIXIIIIXIIIIXVIIXVI16
17XVIXIIIXIIIXVIXV17
18XVXIIXIIXVXIIII18
19XIIIIXIXIXIIIIXIII19
20XIIIXXXIIIXII20
21XIIIXIXXIIXI21
22XIVIIIVIIIXIX22
23XVIIVIIXIX23
24IXVIVIIXVIII24
25VIIIVbis VIVIIIVII25
26VIIIIIIVVIIVI26
27VIIIIIIIIVIV27
28VpridieIIIVIIII28
29IIII-pridieIIIIIII29
30III--IIIpridie30
31pridie--pridie-31

Die Schaltregel wurde nach Cäsars Tod von den Pontifices falsch interpretiert, und man machte jedes dritte Jahr zu einem Schaltjahr. Cäsars Nachfolger Augustus korrigierte diesen Fehler, indem er die fälligen Schaltjahre solange ausließ, bis die überzähligen Schaltungen korrigiert waren. Seit dem Jahr 8 u. Z. wurde der julianische Kalender entsprechend den von Sosigenes festgesetzten Regeln angewendet.

 

 

Anmerkungen

1
Die Konsuln übten in der Römischen Republik die höchste Macht aus. Jährlich wurden zwei Konsuln mit einer Amtszeit von einem Jahr gewählt.

zurück zum Text

2
Die Bezeichnung des 25. Februar als "bis VI Kal. Mart." lässt vermuten, dass der Schalttag, nach heutiger Rechnung, der 25. Februar war. Die von mir genutzten Quellen (Grotefend, Bickerman, Lietzmann) sprechen auch vom 25. Februar als Schalttag. Allerdings scheint es nicht unlogisch, dass der Schalttag an der Stelle eingefügt wurde, an der im vorjulianischen römischen Kalender der Schaltmonat Intercalaris eingeschoben worden war. Konsequenterweise hätte, der Rückwärtszählung der römischen Datierung entsprechend, der 24. Februar als "bis VI" und der 25. Februar als "VI" bezeichnet werden müssen. Diese Variante ist aber explizit in keinem Text aufgetaucht, den ich gelesen habe. http://astro.nmsu.edu/~lhuber/leaphist.html spricht vom 24. Februar als Schalttag.

zurück zum Text

 

   Seitenanfang

 

 

 

 

http://www.ortelius.de/kalender/rom_de.php   © Holger Oertel 2000-2008; letzte Änderung: 19. August 2007

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!