The Gregorian Calendar

Early Reform Projects

The length of the Julian year exceeds the true length of the tropical year by about 11 minutes. Therefore the vernal equinox slowly moved backwards within the calendar year. This fact was noticed in the early Medieval, and first reform proposals were made in the 13th century already. John Holiwood, or Sacrobosco, proposed to leave out a leap year every 288 years. In a paper for pope Urban VI (pope 1261-1264), Giovanni Campano favoured the astronomical determination of equinoxes and full moons.

The problem was also considered within Orthodox churches. The Byzantine Nikiforos Grigorius told emperor Andronikos II (r 1282-1328) about the shifting equinox and called for a reform of the calendar. Others deemed a reform unnecessary since the shift of the equinox and with it of Easter bore the advantage of shifting Easter away from Passah. In 1373, the scholar Isaak Argyros stated that a reform was not necessary since Judgement day would come in 1491, the Byzantine year 7000 beginning on 1 September that year.

In March 1437 the council of Basle considered a proposal of Nikolaus von Kues (Cusanus) to omit the last seven days of May 1439 and thus bring back the vernal equinox to 21 March. Pope Sixtus IV (pope 1471-1484) began preparations for a calendar reform and invited the astronomer and mathematician Johannes Müller (Regiomontanus, after his home city of Königsberg in Franconia) to come to Rome. Regiomontanus died shortly after his arrival in 1476.

The calendar question was discussed on both the Lateran council (1512-1517) and the council of Trent (1545-1563), but without a result. The Polish astronomer Mikołaj Kopernik (Nicolaus Copernicus) was invited to the council of Trent. Copernicus refused and stated that the true length of the tropical year was not known exactly enough. Eventually a reform was decreed by pope Gregory XIII (pope 1572-1585).

Gregorian Reform of the Calendar

In a bull called "Inter gravissimas" pope Gregory XIII published the reform details. 4 October 1582 was to be followed by 15 October 1582 without interrupting the sequence of the days of the week. The leap year rule was modified so that a centennial year remained a common year unless divisible by 400. Thus, the years 1700, 1800, 1900 and 2100 were made common years, whereas 1600 and 2000 remained leap years as in the Julian calendar. With these new rules, 400 Gregorian years have 146,097 days, with an average length of the year of 146,097/400 = 365.2425 days = 365 d 5 h 49 min 12 s. This is only four seconds short of the length of the tropical year taken from astronomical tables published by Erasmus Reinhold in Königsberg (in Prussia) in 1552 and used as the true year length in the reform. The remaining difference to the true length of a tropical year wil amount to one day in more than 3,000 years.

The new calendar was not to be applied for dates before the reform, and the rules for determining the date of Easter were modified and expanded, see The Calculation of Easter.

Introduction of the Gregorian Calendar

Only Spain, Portugal, and parts of Italy began to use the new calendar on 15 October 1582, the other Catholic European countries introducing it only until 1584. The Protestants refused to take over the new style and hung on to the Julian calendar until as late as 1700, when the "Improved Calendar" was adopted. The only difference between the "Improved" and the Gregorian calendar was the determination of Easter but finally, in 1775, the Protestants threw over board their "astronomical" Easter calculation and, since 1776, celebrated Easter together with the Catholic church. A detailed list of the adoption of the new calendar shows when and where the Gregorian or the "Improved" calendar was introduced.

In Sweden the switch from the old to the new calender was performed under weird circumstances. First, the year 1700 was declared a common year instead of a leap year, thus putting the calendar in Sweden one day ahead of the Julian calendar and leaving a difference between the Gregorian and the Swedish calendar of ten days. The re-adoption of the Julian calendar was done by adding a 30th day to February in 1712. The Swedish waited another 41 years before introducing the Gregorian calender in 1753.

Most of the eastern European countries used the Julian calendar until the beginning 20th century, Russia having territories in which the Gregorian calendar had been adopted before they fell to Russia (Finland became a Russian province in 1809, Poland in 1815). Russia adopted the Christian era as late as 1700, until then counting the years from the "creation of the world" which was assumed to have taken place in 5509 BCE, and beginning the year on 1 September. The Christian era was switched to by declaring that 31 December 7208 should be followed by 1 January 1700.

In Turkey the Islamic calendar was in use until 1926.

Adoption of the Gregorian or Improved or New Julian Calendar

The following table shows the dates of the introduction of the new calendar for several territories. The days given are the last day of the Julian calendar and the first day of the new calendar.

Italy, Portugal, Spain, Cath. parts of Poland4 / 15 Oct 1582
France, Lotharingia9 / 20 Dec 1582
Holland, Brabant, Flanders21 Dec 1582 / 1 Jan 1583
dc. Liege (Lüttich)10 / 21 Feb 1583
dc. Augsburg13 / 24 Feb 1583
dc. Treves (Trier)4 / 15 Oct 1583
Groningen (city)28 Feb. / 11 Mar 1583
Bavaria, dcs. Freising, Eichstätt, Regensburg, Salzburg, Brixen5 / 16 Oct 1583
Austrian Upper Alsace, Breisgau13 / 24 Oct 1583
dc. Basel20 / 31 Oct 1583
dch. Jülich-Berg2 / 13 Nov 1583
adc. Cologne, Cologne city3 / 14 Nov 1583
dc. Würzburg4 / 15 Nov 1583
adc. Mayence (Mainz)11 / 22 Nov 1583
dc. Straßburg, mg. Baden16 / 27 Nov 1583
dc. Münster, dch. Cleve17 / 28 Nov 1583
Styria14 / 25 Dec 1583
Austria, Bohemia6 / 17 Jan 1584
Luzern, Uri, Schwyz, Zug, Freiburg, Solothurn11 / 22 Jan 1584
Silesia, Lusatia12 / 23 Jan 1584
Hungary§22 Jan / 2 Feb 1584
dch. Westphalia1 / 12 Jul 1584
dc. Paderborn16 / 27 Jun 1585
Unterwaldenin June 1587
Hungary10 / 21 Oct 1587
Transsylvania14 / 25 Dec 1590
dch. Prussia22 Aug / 2 Sep 1610
Pfalz-Neuburg13 / 24 Dec 1615
dch. Kurlando1617
dc. Osnabrück1624
dc. Hildesheim15 / 26 Mar 1631
Wallis28 Feb / 11 Mar 1655
prp. Minden1 / 12 Feb 1668
Straßburg city5 / 16 Feb 1682
Protestant Germany, Denmark, Norway18 Feb / 1 Mar 1700
Gelderland, Zutphen30 Jun / 12 Jul 1700
Iceland16 Nov / 28 Nov 1700
Utrecht, Overijssel30 Nov / 12 Dec 1700
Friesland, Groningen, Zürich, Bern, Basel, Geneva, Thurgau, Schaffhausen 31 Dec 1700 / 12 Jan 1701
Glarus, Appenzell, St. Gallen city1724
Pisa, Florence20 Dec 1750 / 1 Jan 1751
Great Britain2 / 14 Sep 1752
Sweden (with Finland)17 Feb / 1 Mar 1753
Graubündenlocation-dependent from 1760 until 1812
Albania1913
Bulgaria31 Mar / 14 Apr 1916
Russia31 Jan / 14 Feb 1918
Yugoslavia14 / 28 Jan 1919
Greece15 Feb / 1 Mar 1923
Greek Orthodox Church10 / 24 Mar 1924
Romania30 Sep / 14 Oct 1924
Ottoman Empire (tax year)15 Feb / 1 Mar 1917
Turkey1 Jan 1926
 with exceptions
 re-adoption of the Julian calendar: 19/10 Nov 1594, Gregorian calendar finally adopted in 1700/01 (see list)
§ introduced commonly
 introduction by law
o re-adoption of the Julian calendar after falling to Russia in 1795

abbreviations: dc.-diocese, adc.-arch diocese, prp.-principality (Fürstentum), dch.-duchy, mg.-margraviate

 

   top of page

 

 

 

 

http://www.ortelius.de/kalender/greg_en.php   © Holger Oertel 2000-2008; last change: 19 August 2007

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!

Gregorianischer Kalender

Vorgeschichte der Gregorianischen Reform

Durch das zu lange Jahr des Julianischen Kalenders verschob sich das Frühjahrsäquinoktium im Kalenderjahr langsam rückwärts. Diese Tatsache wurde bereits im frühen Mittelalter bemerkt. Bereits im 13. Jahrhundert gab es erste Vorschläge, den Kalender zu korrigieren. So machte John Holiwood, genannt Sacrobosco, im Jahre 1232 den Vorschlag, aller 288 Jahre ein Schaltjahr auszulassen. Giovanni Campano machte Papst Urban IV. (Papst 1261-1264) den Vorschlag, Äquinoktien und Vollmonde durch astronomische Beobachtungen festzustellen.

Auch im Bereich der Orthodoxen Kirchen wurde das Problem diskutiert. 1324 informierte der byzantinische Gelehrte Nikiforos Grigorius Kaiser Andronikos II. (r. 1282-1328) über das sich verschiebende Äquinoktium und hielt eine Korrektur des Kalenders für erforderlich. Andere Gelehrte betrachteten die Verschiebung jedoch als vorteilhaft, da dann das Osterfest nicht mehr gleichzeitig mit dem Passah-Fest stattfindet. Der Gelehrte Isaak Argyros hielt im Jahre 1373 eine Reform trotz der bekannten Ungenauigkeiten nicht für notwendig, da im Jahre 1491 ohnehin der jüngste Tag käme - am 1. September 1491 würde das Jahr 7000 der byzantinischen Weltära beginnen.

Im März 1437 wurde auf dem Konzil zu Basel ein Vorschlag Nikolaus' von Kues (Cusanus) diskutiert, die letzten sieben Tage des Mai 1439 wegzulassen, um die inzwischen aufgelaufene Verschiebung zu korrigieren. Papst Sixtus IV. (Papst 1471-1484) begann 1475 erneut, eine Kalenderreform vorzubereiten und lud dazu den Astronomen und Mathematiker Johannes Müller, der sich nach seiner Heimatstadt Königsberg in Franken Regiomontanus nannte, nach Rom ein. Kurz nach seiner Ankunft starb Regiomontanus jedoch 1476 in Rom.

Sowohl auf dem Laterankonzil (1512-1517) als auch auf dem Tridentinischen Konzil (1545-1563) Stand der Kalender auf der Tagesordnung, ohne dass man jedoch zu einem Ergebnis kam. Einer Einladung zum Tridentinischen Konzil folgte der polnische Astronom Nikolaus Kopernikus mit der Begründung nicht, dass die wahre Länge des tropischen Jahres noch nicht ausreichend genau bekannt sei. Erst unter Papst Gregor XIII. (Papst 1572-1585) kam es dann zur Umsetzung einer Reform.

Bestimmungen der Reform

In der Bulle "Inter gravissimas" verkündete Gregor XIII. die Kalenderreform, nach der auf den 4. Oktober 1582 unmittelbar der 15. Oktober 1582 folgen sollte. Der Ablauf der Wochentage blieb hiervon unberührt. Die Schaltregel wurde dahin gehend geändert, dass Jahrhundertjahre in Zukunft keine Schaltjahre sein sollten, ausgenommen jedoch wiederum die durch 400 teilbaren. Die Jahre 1700, 1800, 1900 und 2100 wurden nun Normaljahre, während 1600 und 2000 Schaltjahre blieben. Damit haben 400 Jahre insgesamt 146097 Tage, wodurch eine mittlere Jahreslänge von 146097/400 = 365,2425 = 365 d 5 h 49 min 12 s entsteht. Die angenommene wahre Länge des tropischen Jahres (365 d 5 h 49 min 16 s) - astronomischen Tafeln entnommen, die 1552 von Erasmus Reinhold in Königsberg herausgegeben worden waren -  wurde somit bis auf vier Sekunden angenähert. Der noch vorhandene Fehler gegenüber der tatsächlichen Länge des tropischen Jahres beträgt erst in über 3000 Jahren einen Tag.

Schließlich wurde verfügt, dass der Gregorianische Kalender keine rückwirkende Gültigkeit erhalten solle. Auch die Berechnung des Osterfestes wurde umgestellt, siehe hierzu den Artikel "Die Berechnung des Osterfestes".

Einführung des Gregorianischen Kalenders

Der neue Kalender wurde zu dem vom Papst dekretierten Termin nur in Spanien, Portugal und dem größten Teil Italiens eingeführt. Die übrigen katholischen Länder Europas folgten 1583 und 1584. Die protestantischen Länder Deutschlands weigerten sich zunächst, den neuen Kalender einzuführen und blieben noch bis 1700 beim Julianischen Kalender. Dann wurde der so genannte Verbesserte Kalender eingeführt, der sich vom Gregorianischen Kalender durch die Berechnung des Osterfestes unterschied. Erst seit 1776 bestimmen in Deutschland evangelische und katholische Christen Ostern auf die gleiche Weise. Eine kurze Übersicht über die Einführung des neuen Kalenders zeigt die Zeitpunkte der Umstellung in verschiedenen Ländern und Gebieten.

Vollkommen entglitten ist die Kalenderumstellung zeitweilig in Schweden. Das Jahr 1700, das nach dem in Schweden noch geltenden Julianischen Kalender ein Schaltjahr war, wurde zum Normaljahr, ohne dass jedoch die zum Ausgleich gegenüber dem Gregorianischen Kalender notwendigen zehn Tage ausgelassen wurden. Im Ergebnis war der Kalender in Schweden dem Julianischen um einen Tag voraus und zehn Tage hinter dem Gregorianischen Kalender her.

Im Jahre 1712 wurde wieder an den Julianischen Kalender angeglichen, indem man einen 30. Februar einschaltete. Erst weitere 41 Jahre später, 1753, stellte Schweden auf den neuen Stil um.

Die osteuropäischen Länder behielten den alten Stil bis ins 20. Jahrhundert bei. In Teilen Russlands (seit 1809 Finnland und seit 1815 Polen) war schon der Gregorianische Kalender eingeführt, während im eigentlichen Russland der Julianische Kalender erst 1700 durch Peter den Großen eingeführt worden war. Zuvor galt hier eine eigene Jahreszählung "seit der Schaffung der Welt", die auf das Jahr 5509 v. u. Z. angesetzt worden war. Das Jahr begann mit dem 1. September. Die Umstellung auf den Julianischen Kalender geschah, indem man auf den 31. Dezember 7208 den 1. Januar 1700 folgen ließ.

Schließlich wurde im Osmanischen Reich bzw. der Türkei der islamische Kalender gebraucht, der in der Türkei 1926 dem Gregorianischen Kalender weichen musste.

Umstellung vom Julianischen auf den Gregorianischen/Verbesserten/Neujulianischen Kalender

Die folgende Tabelle gibt die Termine der Umstellung für einige Gebiete an. Angegeben sind jeweils der letzte Tag im Julianischen und der erste im neuen Kalender.

 Italien, Spanien, Portugal, kath. Polen4. / 15. Okt. 1582 
Frankreich, Lothringen9. / 20. Dez. 1582
Holland, Brabant, Flandern21. Dez. 1582 / 1. Jan. 1583
Bm. Lüttich10. / 21. Feb. 1583
Bm. Augsburg13. / 24. Feb. 1583
Bm. Trier4. / 15. Okt. 1583
Groningen (Stadt)28. Feb. / 11. Mär. 1583
Bayern, Bmr. Freising, Eichstätt, Regensburg, Salzburg, Brixen5. / 16. Okt. 1583
österr. Oberelsaß, Breisgau13. / 24. Okt. 1583
Bm. Basel20. / 31. Okt. 1583
Hzm. Jülich-Berg2. / 13. Nov. 1583
Ebm. Köln, Stadt Köln3. / 14. Nov. 1583
Bm. Würzburg4. / 15. Nov. 1583
Ebm. Mainz11. / 22. Nov. 1583
Bm. Straßburg, Mgft. Baden16. / 27. Nov. 1583
Bm. Münster, Hzm. Cleve17. / 28. Nov. 1583
Steiermark14. / 25. Dez. 1583
Österreich, Böhmen6. / 17. Jan. 1584
Luzern, Uri, Schwyz, Zug, Freiburg, Solothurn11. / 22. Jan. 1584
Schlesien, Lausitz12. / 23. Jan. 1584
Ungarn§22. Jan. / 2. Feb. 1584
Hzm. Westfalen1. / 12. Jul. 1584
Bm. Paderborn16. / 27. Jun. 1585
Unterwaldenim Juni 1587
Ungarn10. / 21. Okt. 1587
Siebenbürgen14. / 25. Dez. 1590
Hzm. Preußen22. Aug. / 2. Sep. 1610
Pfalz-Neuburg13. / 24. Dez. 1615
Hzm. Kurlando1617
Bm. Osnabrück1624
Bm. Hildesheim15. / 26. Mär. 1631
Kanton Wallis28. Feb. / 11. Mär. 1655
Fsm. Minden1. / 12. Feb. 1668
Stadt Straßburg5. / 16. Feb. 1682
evangel. Deutschland, Dänemark, Norwegen18. Feb. / 1. Mär. 1700
Gelderland, Zutphen30. Jun. / 12. Jul. 1700
Island16. Nov. / 28. Nov. 1700
Utrecht, Overijssel30. Nov. / 12. Dez. 1700
Friesland, Groningen, Zürich, Bern, Basel, Genf, Thurgau, Schaffhausen 31. Dez. 1700 / 12. Jan. 1701
Glarus, Appenzell, St. Gallen (Stadt)1724
Pisa, Florenz20. Dez. 1750 / 1. Jan. 1751
Großbritannien2. / 14. Sep. 1752
Schweden (mit Finnland)17. Feb. / 1. Mär. 1753
Graubündenvon 1760 bis 1812
Albanien1913
Bulgarien31. Mär. / 14. Apr. 1916
Russland31. Jan. / 14. Feb. 1918
Jugoslawien14. / 28. Jan. 1919
Griechenland15. Feb. / 1. Mär. 1923
Griech.-Orthodoxe Kirche9. / 23. Mär. 1924
Rumänien30. Sep. / 14. Okt. 1924
Osmanisches Reich (Steuerjahr)15. Feb. / 1. Mär. 1917
Türkei1. Jan. 1926
 mit Ausnahmen
 Wiedereinführung des Julianischen Kalenders: 19./10. Nov. 1594, endgültige Einführung des Greg. Kalenders 1700/01 (siehe Liste)
§ Einführung im bürgerlichen Leben
 gesetzliche Einführung
o Nachdem Kurland in den Polnischen Teilungen an Russland gekommen war, wurde der Julianische Kalender wieder eingeführt.

Abkürzungen: Bm.-Bistum, Ebm.-Erzbistum, Fsm.-Fürstentum, Hzm.-Herzogtum, Mgft.-Markgrafschaft

 

   Seitenanfang

 

 

 

 

http://www.ortelius.de/kalender/greg_de.php   © Holger Oertel 2000-2008; letzte Änderung: 19. August 2007

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional  Valid CSS!